Resident Scholars

Each year the Wayne Morse Center for Law and Politics hosts one or two UO faculty members as Resident Scholars. Resident Scholars work with the Wayne Morse Center Faculty Codirector and Senior Scholar to conduct research or other professional activities that contribute to the scholar’s own work and the Wayne Morse Center’s programs. The Resident Scholar program is open to tenured and tenure-track faculty at the UO. Resident Scholars receive stipends that can be used in a number of ways, depending on the desires of the Resident Scholar and his or her department or school.

The application deadline for the 2024-25 academic year was January 12, 2024. Application information for 2025-26 will be available in Fall 2024.

View publications related to past Resident Scholars' research

Defending Democracy (2023-24)

Renee Irvin
School of Planning, Public Policy and Management
"Identifying Dark Money Organizations Funding Political Activity in the United States"
Jennifer O'Neal
Department of Indigenous, Race, and Ethnic Studies
"Fighting for Native American Sovereignty through Global Indigenous Movements”



Making Work Work (2021-23)
Maria Fernanda Escallón
Claire Herbert
Annelise Heinz

Science, Policy and the Public (2019-21)
Leah Lowthorp
Arafaat Valiani
Krista McGuire
Leigh Johnson

Borders, Migration and Belonging (2017-19)
Laura Pulido
Julie Weise
Angela Joya
Erin Beck

The Future of Public Education (2015-17)
Charise Cheney
Michael Musheno
Erik Girvan
Jerry Rosiek 

Media and Democracy (2013-15)
Carrie Leonetti
Gabriela Martinez
Colin Koopman
Eric Priest

Capitalism and the Common Good (2011-13)
Stuart Chinn
Joseph Lowndes
Michael Fakhri
Katie Meehan

Climate Ethics and Climate Equity (2009-2011)
Richard Hildreth
Allison Carruth
Derrick Hindery
Adell Amos
Ted Toadvine

Democracy and Citizenship (2007-09)
Daniel HoSang
Michelle McKinley
Garrett Epps
Gordon Lafer

Indigenous Peoples: National Policy and International Human Rights (2005-07)
Mary Wood
Rennard Strickland
Brian Klopotek

The Changing Geopolitical Order (2003-05)
Ibrahim Gassama
Lynn Fujiwara
Keith Aoki
Lise Nelson

Race, Class and the Criminal Justice System (2001-03)
Merle Weiner