2022-23 Visitors and Affiliates

Juliet Schor

2022-23 Wayne Morse Chair
Juliet Schor is an economist and sociologist at Boston College whose research focuses on work, consumption, and climate change. Since 2011 Schor has been studying the “sharing” and “gig” economies. Her most recent book is a collaboration titled After the Gig: how the sharing economy got hijacked and how to win it back (2020), which won the Porchlight Management and Workplace Culture Book of the Year.

Annelise Heinz

2022-23 Resident Scholar
Annelise Heinz is a historian of modern America whose research focuses on the intersections of gender, race/ethnicity, and sexuality. As the 2022-23 Wayne Morse Resident Scholar, she will be working on a project titled "Collective: How Lesbian Feminists Reimagined Society," which examines the subculture of “lesbian feminists” who created dense community networks across North America in the 1970s and 80s.

Lillian DeVane

2022-23 Graduate Research Fellow
Lillian DeVane is a graduate student in the Folklore and Public Culture Program. Her project, “Pickers and Packers: Occupational Culture in Workplace Organizing,” will focus on the occupational narratives, organizing terminology, material lore, and personal experiences of warehouse workers in the Pacific Northwest.

Bradley T. Hughes

2022-23 Graduate Research Fellow
Bradley T. Hughes is a graduate student in the UO Department of Psychology. His project, "Occupational Prestige: The Status Component of Socioeconomic Status" seeks to collect and validate a new index of occupational prestige for the specific occupations (1000+) and broader job families (22) included in the government’s O*NET classification system. 

Moeko Yamazaki

2022-23 Graduate Research Fellow
Moeko Yamazaki is a graduate student in the Department of History. Her project, “Making the World on Time: FedEx UPS, and the History of the American Logistics Industry since the 1970s,” illustrates that logistics has been at the forefront of transforming the post-WWII employment relationship in the United States.