Wayne Morse Scholars Program

Ben Bowman with Governor Vic Atiyeh

Ben Bowman, seen here with Governor Vic Atiyeh, applied for the Wayne Morse Scholars program to learn how political decision-making works and how to be effective in the field of public policy. Read about Ben’s experience as a Scholar

The Wayne Morse Scholars program offers an opportunity for a select group of undergraduate students to study public affairs and American politics from practical, analytical, and ethical perspectives. Wayne Morse Scholars enjoy an intimate and hands-on learning environment to study compelling issues in government and politics by means of a special seminar, supervised internships and research, leadership training, and discussions with government officials, political practitioners, and visiting scholars.

2014-15 information and tentative schedule

  • Info session: Tuesday, October 14 at 4 p.m. in 241 Knight Law Center
  • Applications due: Friday, October 24 by noon
  • 2014-15 Scholars announced: Tuesday, November 4
  • Scholars orientation lunch: Wednesday, November 12, 12-1:30 p.m.
  • Democratic Dilemmas class with Professor Dan Tichenor: Tuesdays 2-4:50 p.m. during Winter term 2015 (required)

Program components

  • Special seminar on democratic dilemmas taught by political science professor and Wayne Morse Senior Faculty Fellow Dan Tichenor.
  • Meeting and discussions with distinguished speakers, government officials and political practitioners.
  • Special events and great food!
  • Small leadership trainings and workshops
  • Field trips to Salem to observe the Oregon House, Senate, Supreme Court, and executive branch at work, and to meet with state officials and their staff.
  • Supervised service learning projects, internships and honors thesis work for seniors.

University of Oregon sophomores and juniors from all disciplines are welcome to apply for the Scholars program. 15-20 students per year are selected, primarily on the basis of academic merit, service experiences and demonstrated interest in politics or public policy. Students may continue as Wayne Morse Scholars in subsequent years.

Read about the inaugural class of Wayne Morse Scholars in CAScade Magazine

2014-15 Scholars

  • Andrew Baker (Business Administration) ‘16
  • Jasmine Beeson (Political Science, Mathematics) ‘17
  • Nathaniel Brown (Media Studies) ‘16
  • Ruhama Dimbore (International Studies, Political Science) ‘17
  • Andrew Dunn (Political Science, Philosophy) ‘17
  • Ted Foster (Political Science, Philosophy) ‘17
  • Jessica Frink (Journalism) ‘17
  • Dalton Fusco (Environmental Studies) ‘16
  • Michael Gottschalk (Political Science) ‘17
  • Jacob Gram (Finance, Economics) ‘16
  • Kate Jaffe (Environmental Studies, Biology) ‘17
  • Bryce Keicher (Spanish, PPPM) ‘17
  • Isaac Kort-Meade (Economics, PPPM) ‘17
  • Aerin Lerch (Political Science, Environmental Studies) ‘17
  • Morgan Murphy (Undeclared) ‘17
  • Claire Pascual (Political Science) ‘17
  • Mario Radic (Political Science) ‘16
  • Maya Robbins (Environmental Studies, PPPM) ‘17
  • Kenneth Sergienko (Political Science) ‘17
  • Isabella Shaulis (Political Science) ‘16
  • Lisa Smith (Political Science, French) ‘16
  • Jacquelyn Ulum (Political Science) ’17
  • Paige Whitaker (International Studies, Romance Languages) ‘16
  • Kiley Wilson (Political Science) ‘16

2013-14 Scholars

  • Chloe Bosner (Political Science) ‘16
  • Ben Bowman (Political Science) ’14
  • Kelly Brandon (Philosophy, Political Science) ‘15
  • Thomas Dal Pino (Political Science) ‘16
  • Casey Edwards (Political Science) ‘16
  • Adrian Engstrom von Alten (Sociology, Folklore) ‘15
  • Kevin Frazier (Economics, PPPM) ‘15
  • Megan Gleason (Environmental Studies) ‘15
  • Marshall Kosloff (Political Science) ‘15
  • Andrew Lubash (Economics, Political Science) ‘15
  • Karissa Miller (History, Political Science) ‘15
  • Patrick Miller (PPPM, Spanish) ‘16
  • Hugo Nicolas (Economics) ‘16
  • Bridget O’Donnell-Davidson (Advertising, Political Science) ‘15
  • Lauren Reifer (Political Science, Theater Arts) ’15 or ‘14
  • Natalie Richards (International Studies, German) ‘16
  • Yanely Rivas (Ethnic Studies, PPPM) ‘15
  • Libby Schimmels (Political Science) ‘15
  • Helena Schlegel (Economics, Math, Spanish) ‘16
  • Celine Swenson-Harris (Political Science) ‘16
  • Nicole Stoenner (Anthropology, Political Science) ‘15
  • Alex Titus (Economics, Political Science) ‘16
  • Jacob Valleau (Political Science) ‘15
  • Kelsey West (Sociology, PPPM) ‘15

Join the Wayne Morse Circle and support the Wayne Morse Scholars program
The Scholars program relies on support from friends of the UO and the Wayne Morse Center who recognize the value of encouraging lasting connections between undergraduate students and the work of the Wayne Morse Center. Learn how you can help us pass on the principles of Wayne Morse.

The Wayne Morse Center is grateful for a 2013-2014 grant from the Tom and Carol Williams Fund for Undergraduate Education that provided a huge boost to the inception of this program.