Law Fellowship Program

“Being a Wayne Morse Fellow is one the few experiences in my lifetime that truly captures the interconnectedness of our world. I have become acutely aware that societal problems don’t exist in isolated silos; the solutions to ecological and economic crises can be the same.” —Elizabeth Brown, 2011-13 fellow

Wayne Morse Fellowships are an opportunity to follow in the tradition of Senator Morse, who was also dean of the University of Oregon School of Law. The Wayne Morse Center awards fellowships to three students from each law school class.

What a Wayne Morse Law Fellowship offers

  • A chance to interact with well-known scholars and activists. Past visitors include Dr. Vandana Shiva, Sen. Russ Feingold and Chief Wilma Mankiller. Fellows often correspond, engage in discussion, and share meals with Wayne Morse Center speakers.
  • Hands-on experience in planning and organizing conferences and other events.
  • An opportunity to initiate and frame important discussions on campus.
  • $4,250 toward law school tuition for the year.

Fellowships are awarded on the basis of academic merit and demonstrated interest in the principles and issues that inspired Morse—including public service, fair labor practices, representative government, and civil rights. Applications for incoming students are accepted on a rolling basis every year, with most decisions being made by the end of March. Applications for current students are due each February for the following year.
View application materials

2014-15 Wayne Morse Fellows
Angela Rico
Erika O’Sullivan
Scott Olson
John Bain
Will Gent
Chris Jirges
Erin Burris
Jamie McLeod
Erika Gibson

View past fellows